News & Updates

Latest discussions and updates from scholarly publishing

Congratulations to the winners of the 2015 Eureka Prizes

Congratulations to the winners of the 2015 Eureka Prizes

The Australian Museum Eureka Prizes are annual awards that reward “excellence in the fields of research & innovation, leadership, science communication & journalism and school science.” Established in 1990 by the Australian Museum in partnership with government organizations, institutions, companies, and individuals committed to Australian science, Eureka Prizes have been deemed as “the most comprehensive national science awards in Australia.”  

The winners of the 2015 Eureka Prizes were announced on August 26. The prizes that major stakeholders of science and research would find interesting are as follows:

CSIRO Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science

Professor Michelle Simmons, University of New South Wales: Prof. Simmons' leadership and groundbreaking research program in the development of atomic scale electronics have positioned Australian researchers as world leaders in classical and quantum computing technologies in silicon. Her track record is exceptional and is the product of leading considerable multidisciplinary teams in Australia and internationally.

Macquarie University Eureka Prize for Outstanding Early Career Researcher

Associate Professor Michael Biercuk, University of Sydney: Asst. Prof. Biercuk is internationally recognised for his outstanding contributions to one of the most exciting and impactful disciplines in modern physics: quantum science. He has built a record of transformative discoveries driving the development of a new generation of advanced technologies based on quantum physics, with important practical outcomes.

Scopus Eureka Prize for Excellence in International Scientific Collaboration

Professor Dacheng Tao, University of Technology Sydney: Prof. Tao collaborates with an international network of academic and industry-based peers to help computers better interpret data captured from the real world. Together, the team has invented subspace learning models that meaningfully reduce the complexity of captured data. Their theoretical and algorithmic findings have diverse applications, from video surveillance to consumer electronics.

University of New South Wales Eureka Prize for Scientific Research

Professor Peter Currie, Phong Nguyen, Monash University; and Dr Georgina Hollway, Garvan Institute of Medical Research: Prof. Peter Currie and his team have identified, for the first time, a mechanism in the body that triggers hematopoietic stem cell (HSC) production. Unravelling the mystery of HSC generation could see it used to cure a range of blood disorders and immune diseases.

The comprehensive list of all the winners can be found on the Australian Museum website

Congratulations to all the winners!

You're looking to give wings to your academic career and publication journey. We like that!

Why don't we give you complete access! Create a free account and get unlimited access to all resources & a vibrant researcher community.

One click sign-in with your social accounts

234 visitors saw this today and 223 signed up.

Found this useful?

If so, share it with your fellow researchers